Skip to the kits and articles ↓
OpusClip Exit Kit · Article

OpusClip vs Klap: per minute vs per clip

Main topic: OpusClip vs Klap · Facts checked 5 November 2026 — prices change, so re-check the official page before acting on them.

Last checked: 5 November 2026

Short answer: OpusClip charges per minute of source video (1 credit = 1 minute imported); Klap charges per clip kept (source length does not use the plan). Both headline plans are $29 a month. A 60-minute video kept as 2 clips costs 60 credits on OpusClip and 2 clips on Klap Basic (100 clips a month). Keep many clips and OpusClip-style billing wins; keep few and Klap wins. Prices checked 5 November 2026.

Head to head

OpusClip (Pro, $29/mo)Klap (Basic, $29/mo)
Billing unitPer minute of source videoPer clip kept
Yearly-billed price$14.50/mo ($174/yr, from OpusClip blog)$14.50/mo ($174/yr, pricing page 4 Nov 2026)
Allowance300 credits (blog)100 clips/mo; 1,200 granted upfront yearly
Free planYes — watermark, exports expire in 3 daysNo — 1 trial video, preview only
Max source video10 GB file (30 GB Pro); 10-hour cap stated for API use onlyUp to 3 hours, every plan
Resolution9:16, 1:1, 16:9 on Pro; 4K Business onlyNot stated on the pricing page fetched
Virality scoreYes — OpusClip’s headline featureNo virality score
Auto-postingScheduler on ProAuto-posting on paid plans

↔ Scroll this table sideways — the rest of the page stays put.

Where OpusClip wins

When you keep a lot. A 20-minute video kept as 15 clips costs 20 credits on OpusClip Pro — a fifth of a 100-clip Klap month would be 15 clips, so Klap still holds up there; but a 10-minute video kept as 20 short clips costs 10 credits on OpusClip and 20 clips on Klap. OpusClip also has the free tier for trying, the virality score for choosing, and wider aspect ratios on Pro. If your habit is short sources and many kept clips, per-minute billing is the cheaper shape.

Where Klap wins

When the source is long and the keep is small. A 3-hour webinar kept as 3 clips costs 3 clips on Klap Basic and 180 credits on a per-minute plan — more than half an OpusClip Pro month in one upload. Klap also takes source videos up to 3 hours on every plan, and paid exports carry no Klap branding. If your habit is long recordings and a ruthless keep, per-clip billing is the cheaper shape by a wide margin.

The verdict by job

  • Long podcasts/webinars, 1–3 clips kept: Klap, clearly.
  • Short videos, many clips kept: OpusClip, clearly.
  • Trying before paying: OpusClip — Klap has no free plan.
  • Virality score matters: OpusClip — Klap does not score clips that way.
  • Not sure: run the job quiz with your real minutes and kept-clip count.

Questions people ask

Which is cheaper for a 2-hour podcast?

Klap, if you keep few clips: 2 hours kept as 2 clips costs 2 of Klap Basic’s 100 monthly clips. On a per-minute plan the same upload costs 120 credits — 40% of an OpusClip Pro month (300 credits, per OpusClip’s blog) in one video. If you keep 30 clips from that podcast, the maths flips.

Does Klap have a free plan?

No. One free trial video, no card, preview and edit only. Downloading or posting the clips needs a paid plan. Klap’s own FAQ (updated 4 November 2026) also says Klap does not publish promo codes.

Is Klap 4K?

Not stated on the pricing page fetched on 5 November 2026, so this page does not claim it. Older HD/4K plan gates appear in older reads, but they were not repeated on the current pricing page — check Klap’s checkout or help pages before assuming a resolution.